Recent Searches
Clear

BEST Niagara Falls(US) 2-Day Tour from New York City

star-4.553 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
New York, United States
BEST Niagara Falls(US) 2-Day Tour from New York City

From $190.00

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 traveler2 travelers3 travelers4 travelers
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon2 days  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Saved to wishlist!
Transportation (The type of vehicle used will base on the number of guests on the day).
Hotel (1 Night).
Professional driver and/or guide.
Food and Beverage; Lunch and Dinner (Tour guide will arrange).
Air ticket, ferry, and shuttle transfer in some attraction area/national parks.
Optional admission fee (Prices are subject to change without prior notice).
Personal expenses and other expenses not listed in the Cost Includes.
Parking is not available at pick up point.The cost of transportation to/from the place of departure.
Gratuities

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

This activity ends in a different location. See details below:

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • 1. Customer under 18 years old MUST be accompanied by at least one adult.
  • 2. Please be sure to provide accurate and complete information upon booking. This includes name, gender, valid contact information (preferably a mobile phone), accurate flight information, tour location, etc., This helps to avoid any errors upon the reservation because errors affect travel. Any losses due to inaccurate or invalid information will be at your own cost and the company will not be held responsible.
  • 3. Various hotels may have different deposit policy passengers need to comply with. No specific bed type or the position of the tour can be guaranteed at each hotel. Usually 2-4 people can stay in each room maximally. Hotel check-in time starts at 15:00.
  • 4. This tour does not accept any City Pass or your own tickets for any of the attractions. Tour attraction admission charges and meal expenses are subject to change at any time without notification. Any purchased ticket cannot be refunded for lower prices.
  • 5. JUPITER LEGEND Corporation and Ctour Holiday have the right to make appropriate adjustments to the itinerary under the conditions of facilitating the operation for the tour group. This, however, will not reduce the items that should be included in the itinerary.
  • 6. During the actual trip, the tour guide or driver has the right to appropriately adjust the tour sequence, stay time or assembly time of scenic spots according to the weather, traffic, and other conditions to ensure the smooth progress of the trip.
  • 7. If the scenic spots are temporarily closed or closed on a particular holiday, etc., the tour guide will adjust the appearance according to the actual situation or replace the location with another scenic spot to ensure the richness of the itinerary. The opening hours and capacity limits of certain attractions and national parks will be subject to change from time to time due to the COVID-19 pandemic. When the operating hours and capacity restrictions have an impact on the itinerary, it shall be regarded as force majeure. Thank you for your understanding.
  • 8. Children under the age of 8 require a booster seat in order to participate in the tour group. JUPITER LEGEND Corporation and Ctour Holiday provide the rental service for $10.00/person/day. Please make a request when booking the itinerary so that we may have the booster seat ready in advance. Please understand that the violations and fines are borne by the guests themselves. There is no need for a booster seat for bus travel on the day of travel, and the fee can be refunded to the guest.
  • 9. Normal health conditions are required to participate and enjoy our full itineraries. Contact us for specific policies or information regarding passengers with disabilities who do need to provide advance notification to make a reservation. JUPITER LEGEND Corporation and Ctour Holiday do not guarantee a wheelchair lift-equipped bus and/or seating availability to disabled passengers without prior notification and approval.
  • 10. We may alter these terms and conditions from time to time and post the new version on the website. It is your responsibility to check it on the website regularly and prior to making a reservation. Unless specifically stated otherwise herein or required by law, JUPITER LEGEND Corporation shall not be liable for any consequential, compensatory, indirect, incidental or punitive damages arising out of or in connection with the performance of its obligations under these terms and conditions.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • 11. Only for products with airport pick-up service: only one pick-up service within the free pick-up time range is provided for each order. If it is impossible to arrange due to weather and flight delay, etc., please pay for your own transportation costs.
  • 12. Smoking is prohibited aboard the bus in accordance with Federal law and prohibited in most hotel rooms. Customers are responsible for any penalty charged by the hotel in a non-smoking room at least $250 per night.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 55 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Jupiter Legend Corporation
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during BEST Niagara Falls(US) 2-Day Tour from New York City ?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by BEST Niagara Falls(US) 2-Day Tour from New York City .
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during BEST Niagara Falls(US) 2-Day Tour from New York City ?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by BEST Niagara Falls(US) 2-Day Tour from New York City .
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during BEST Niagara Falls(US) 2-Day Tour from New York City ?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by BEST Niagara Falls(US) 2-Day Tour from New York City .
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during BEST Niagara Falls(US) 2-Day Tour from New York City ?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by BEST Niagara Falls(US) 2-Day Tour from New York City .

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
53 Reviews
2 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-5 of 53 reviews
star-5
Perfect Get Away
Donyale_P
, Aug 2022
The tour was perfect worth the money and our tour Guide really was the Best. We had fun ! Would definitely Recommend. We didn't expect to see soooo many attractions
star-1
Viator doesn't care
Angela_H
, Jul 2022
We never made it there. Despite us having paid and confirmed tickets, no one arrived to pick us up. We checked out of our hotel at 6am and went to the designated pick up location. We waited for an hour before calling the customer service number listed on the tickets. We were told that they over sold this trip and they would not be able to accommodate us for this trip. Never mind this being the whole reason that we were in NY to begin with. We were told that they would be able to accommodate us 3 days later. Our return flights were scheduled for 2 days later. Not only that, the hotels were sold out... except for an extremely expensive hotel. And even then we still had to rome around with all our belongings until check in time. Viator told us that they would only refund the purchase price of the tickets. It would be credited in 5 to 7 business days. No additional compensation, no complementary excursion... nothing. When I asked to speak with a manager, I was told that they can only send my complaint to the escalation team and they are only available by email. No one would speak with me directly. We have returned home from our trip and needless to say we have heard from no one. Terrible experience.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Dear Customer, Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about our service. We are so sorry the date you chosen is sold out, we tried to contacted you to suggest you change another date, but we are so sorry that we did not get in touch with you and receive your reply in time. We have already refunded the tour fee for you and in order to express our apology, we would like to provide you two a 50% discount of this tour for another date. If it is suitable for you, please contact us via qc@uvbookings.com. Hope the above explanations help you. If there is anything we could assist with, please let us know.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-3
Chaotic but convenient, be prepared for MASSIVE upcharges
Susan_B
, Jul 2022
Definitely felt a little out of the loop when booking this through Viator, as others who booked directly with this tour received e-mail updates beforehand. This is a very chaotically organized trip, but I appreciate the convenience of the scheduling and driving. To be clear: the driver and tour guide themselves were nothing but professional! But the overall management leaves much to be desired. The description on this page is VERY vague and lacks information, but the posted amount is really just for the transportation TO the city of Niagara Falls and back to NYC and the one night hotel accommodation (they will still force you to pay extra even if you select an option that states "admission to Niagara State Park included" under the guise of "transportation"). Once you board a shuttle and are in too deep, they will explain the upcharges for every single activity (and every single activity has a price tag even state parks in which the bus in theory should be transporting you regardless) and insist on cash-only. Felt a little held hostage by this arrangement where you were told "you can either do this activity, stay in the bus, or be dropped off at the hotel." Most of the travelers on this are not native English-speakers, so you can tell they are being ripped off -- again, state parks are free and a lot of the ticket prices they give you (which should have a group discount) ARE more expensive than just buying it solo when you're there. Overall, they will ask you to pay ~$200+ in cash in upcharges. I chose this tour for the convenience of the driving arrangement (if you have the bandwidth, planning your own trip is absolutely the way to go), but ultimately still felt limited by the tour's overpriced activities. I had a LOT of fun as Niagara Falls is beautiful, but I wasn't on a budget so while I was annoyed by the "hidden" charges, it didn't completely ruin the trip.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Dear Customer, Thanks for reaching us. We highly value any feedback from customers. Regarding this case, we have already highlighted it and flagged it as a high priority. On behalf of Quality Control Department, please allow us to make following explanations: What's the tour fee Include and not include are both clearly listed on the website, you can see the detail information under “What's Included” . You can also see all the optional attractions ticket price when you book the tour as it is clearly listed on the website. If you do not choose it on the tour, the guide will also arrange you to have rest or free activities around the scenic spots. All of all our tour guides are bilingual and could speak certain levels of fluent English, they will firstly confirm with the customers of what optional attractions they want to attend and then charge for that, cash or other payment methods are permitted. About the State Park, as we are tour group and in order to make our customers have more better experience we optimize the itinerary of these attractions, so we have some extra cost than individual, meanwhile, all admission fee are open and transparent on the website, there is no “hidden” charges. We Hope the above explanations could help you and if there is anything we could assist with, please let us know.
4 travelers found this review helpful
star-3
In the end, You pay double the price.
Marie_A
, Jul 2022
The tour was good and enjoyable although time was quite limited. But we were made to pay an additional amount of $219 per person to be able to go to all the attractions mentioned. It should have been included in the total price next time. The amount you pay is only for the bus ride and 1 night hotel accomodation. I thought that this tour was a good deal but it ended up to being an expensive tour for 2 days. Driver had great driving skills, but bus was dirty. Tour guide was attentive and caring although demanding and English cannot be understood clear enough.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Dear Customer. Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about our service. According to our investigation, all the admissions with charge is optional and the prices are listed on the website, it is not included in the tour fee, please understand, as not all the customers want to attend all the optional items, so we could not make it include in the .total price of the tour fee. The bus was clean and our tour guide also reminded customers to throw garbage into the trash can in front of the bus. About the guide’s language, please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience incurred. All of all tour guides are bilingual and could speak certain levels of fluent English. Still, we are aware that many are not native speakers, and it may bring potential communication hassles. We are so sorry for any inconvenience caused to you. We will enhance training of the tour guide to provide more professional service. Hope the above explanations help you resolve this case. If there is anything we could assist with, please let us know.
3 travelers found this review helpful
star-4
Seeing is Believing!
Linda_C
, May 2022
Wonderful experience. However, disappointed that we were ask to pay in cash and no receipt was given. It was promised, but never given.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you very much for your feedbacks, we do have a service of receipt offering, i will let your tour guide contact you immediatly to help you with this, we are very sorry for any inconvenience that caused. If you have any concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us via qc@uvbookings.com
1 traveler found this review helpful

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations