Recent Searches
Clear

Ghosts of Georgetown Walking Tour

star-4.545 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Washington, United States
Ghosts of Georgetown Walking Tour
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon2 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Discover the hidden history and local legends of Georgetown on a 3-hour ghost tour. Today the upscale area is bustling with tourists, but it also has a darker past. Learn about supernatural occurrences and listen to true crime stories as you traverse the cemeteries, churches, and alleys of the city’s oldest neighborhood.
  • See Georgetown without the tourist crowds
  • Enjoy an offbeat nighttime tour with friends
  • Listen to spooky stories about the neighborhood
  • Visit locations with reported hauntings
Saved to wishlist!
Licensed Guide
Pick up/ Drop off
Old Stone House , 3051 M St NW, Washington, DC 20007, USA

We meet outside the Old Stone House 3051 St NW.

8:00 PM
The Exorcist Stairs , Northwest Washington, Washington, DC 20007, USA

Tour ends at the Exorcist Steps (36th and Prospect St NW)

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Visit DC Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Ghosts of Georgetown Walking Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Ghosts of Georgetown Walking Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "This problem is easy to solve; make sure that someone from Viator stands at the previously agreed place near the bridge and then walk to the new one at the old stone house." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
45 Reviews
2 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 45 reviews
star-4
Ghost tour
Alexandria_I
, Aug 2022
Erin was out tour guide for the evening. She did an amazing job telling up story of history and some of ghost stories to go with each building we stopped at. I would definitely recommend this tour. A good bit of walking. Just be careful when you walk down exorcist stair they are steep
star-5
Scary History
Michael_H
, Jul 2022
Our tour guide has a great personality and with her storytelling she kept myself and my daughter interested in the history of the places we visited. The Exorcist story was probably the scariest for me.
star-3
Great history & Guide, but not scary
Melissa_M
, Jul 2022
Erin was a great tour guide- full of personally, great story-telling skills. But for the high price, it was disappointingly more walking than ghost stories. Georgetown has got to have a few more stories than that?
star-5
Great tour!
Kellie_P
, Jul 2022
The tour was very interesting. Really enjoyed hearing some history of Georgetown. Georgetown was very nice. And the tour guide, Melissa, was awesome!
star-4
Great tour
Travis_B
, Jul 2022
The tour guide really brought the stories to life. She was very knowledgeable. I would suggest going just a bit more in depth with each story.
star-1
Boring waste of time overpriced
BHL_H
, Jun 2022
Sometimes you have to read your audience. It was 90 degrees and buggy. The guide droned on about minutiae details while we were sweating and itching. There was nothing worthwhile to see but Jackie Onassis house which she missed.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
We are sorry to hear this was your experience. Ghosts of Georgetown is a very popular tour for us and usually gets high ratings from guests across different platforms. We are not quite sure what went wrong here. Please do contact us directly and we will be happy to process a refund to you. Thank you.
star-4
Erin was a great tour...
Claire_W
, Jun 2022
Erin was a great tour guide and overall I enjoyed the tour. However, it is not a ghost tour and should not be classified as one.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Price paid more than others!!!
Linda_B
, May 2022
Sorry, but overpriced!!! Advertised as a 3 hour tour and only 1 1/2 hours. Also, others paid $35 and I paid $50!!!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hello guest. For guests who book directly with us there is a different price than when booked on a third party website (we have to pay commission and fees for such bookings that come from Viator or Tripadvisor or other online travel agents). It is not so that the guests on the same platform paid differently. Please, we hope you understand this distinction. Your review's title makes it as though we were unfair in our dealings, which we most certainly were not. Tour is advertised as a 2 hour tour to allow for delays. It is a 90 minute end-to-end experience. If you found the tour not to your liking please do reach out to us privately and we will process a refund for you. We would like to point out that this is one of our longest running (over 12 years) and most popular and well-liked tours. We are sorry your experience was different.
star-5
Historic and Frightening stories
Marie_C
, May 2022
Wonderful stories, Fantastic neighborhood and Incredible story telling guide We learned so much history gory and frightening and ended the adventure at the stair part of the film The Exorcist was filmed at. Marie and Sean Toronto, Ontario
star-5
Ask for Erin when you book a tour!
Merissa_P
, Apr 2022
Erin was a fantastic tour guide! She was super animated and great at storytelling. She also was so bubbly and kind hearted. I would take another tour by her in a heartbeat. Please give her the raise and recognition she deserves.
star-5
Our tour guide, Erin, was...
Bethlynn_R
, Apr 2022
Our tour guide, Erin, was amazing! She shared so much of the history of Georgetown! It was evident that she was passionate about the legends and history of this iconic town!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Amazing ghost tour!
Victor_H
, Apr 2022
Melissa was an excellent tour guide and you could tell that she really loves what she does! Her history wound with the ghost stories captivates your attention and makes you appreciate how Georgetown started and the important roles it has played throughout history. The ending at the Exorcist house and steps was a wonderful finale to a great tour!
star-5
Great experience
Heather_B
, Mar 2022
Our tour guide told amazing stories and was very funny. We learned so much about Georgetown while on this ghost filled tour
star-5
Loved it. Great guide...
Sandy_G
, Mar 2022
Loved it. Great guide and stories. Would have liked more - and of course to see a ghost. I recommend this trip.
star-1
Ghost tour disappointment
Sara_M
, Oct 2021
The company overbooked the evening and therefore had to split us into two groups. Our group was still very large and our tour guide must have been taken by surprise that he was going to do a tour that night because he did not seem prepared, lost his words and his way a couple times and the tour stories sometimes did not wrap up. I had family from out of town and was very excited to share this with them, and was disappointed. I booked my tickets weeks ahead of time and therefore the company should have known not to overbook our time slot and to have prepared guides ready to give us the tour we paid a lot for. Other company’s were cheaper, but I thought this company was well known for their excellence. I will go with another company next time we do a tour in the area.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
I’m so sorry to hear you did not enjoy the tour. We do not overbook tours, but rather send the appropriate number of guides to keep groups at 15, while some other companies allow upwards of 50 per guide. At this time of year we almost always split into two smaller groups as tours get fully booked. We have a waitlist for every night but do not allow additional tickets sold to make sure groups are limited in size. All guides set their schedule a month in advance so everyone is aware of what night they are leading a tour. We would appreciate knowing who your guide was so we can work to improve the tour for other guests. All of our guides are experienced, with the newest guide having been a full time guide for a year and our senior ghost guide for 9 years so I am surprised to hear of stumbles and lost ways. Knowing who and what date may allow us to understand the issue. Please feel free to message or email us.
star-5
Excellent tour with excellent guide!
Danielle_C
, Oct 2021
We had a wonderful time on our date night last night learning about all the ghosts of Georgetown! Thank you for a memorable tour and some added bonus history and stops along the way! Our tour guide was both funny and knowledgeable and it made for a great tour!
star-5
Great walk!
Amanda_K
, Jul 2021
Melissa was fantastic. Very personable and knowledgeable about Georgetown’s history. The tour was a great way to get a feel for the neighborhood.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Excellent tour
Daniela_A
, Jul 2021
Jim was a great guide!! He is knowledgeable, witty, and super kind. He let the participants made questions and answered nicely. It was great going on tour with him because of his positive attitude. He is fun and makes it enjoyable.
star-5
Melissa was great!
Charles_S
, Jun 2021
Melissa was great! Lots of information and very entertaining - lots of history of Georgetown! Fun and interesting
star-5
Georgetown ghost tour family friendly.
Becky_T
, Jul 2020
My family and I enjoyed our tour with Melissa. She gave us unique facts and I also really enjoyed strolling in Georgetown (M street and neighborhood).

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Ghosts of Georgetown Walking Tour
Likely to Sell Out
Ghosts of Georgetown Walking Tour

star-4.545

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$50.00

star-4.5111

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$25.00

star-542

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$65.00

star-540

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$48.00

star-4242

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$32.49

star-561

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$55.00

star-517

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$75.00

star-516

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$25.00

star-4.5128

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$81.51
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations